Cultivation & harvest

 

Life awakens – the apple cycle begins

When the winter months begin, our growers spray the branches of the apple trees as it turns cold. This produces a layer of ice which protects the delicate twigs against even cooler temperatures. This ensures that even the coldest temperatures cannot harm the trees and they can start budding as soon as possible.

P1000428

Pollination

It’s not just bees that take care of this vital process. Bumblebees begin to be active at 8 degrees, whereas other bees become active at 14 degrees. This is why we have an increased reliance on bumblebees as well as other bees. This is enormously important for the early pollination of the blossoms

hummel

Ripening process

Lake Constance has a Mediterranean climate and, with around 1,700 hours of sunshine a year, is one of Germany’s sunniest regions. During ripening, our growers constantly monitor key parameters with random samples in order to determine and control the optimal harvesting time.

test

Harvest

The harvest season gets under way at the start of August with the early Lake Constance apples. It finishes at the end of October with apples suitable for storage, one of which is the Braeburn variety. Our wide range of varieties and the long shelf life of the varieties for storage ensure a steady supply of fresh apples from Lake Constance all year round.

ernte

Storage & transport

If apples are to arrive with customers as if freshly plucked from the branch, an unbroken cool chain needs to be in place. SALEM-Frucht supplies freshness and quality all twelve months of the year. Ten ramps transport the goods directly from the picking warehouse for loading onto refrigerated trains, and the fruit thus reaches German and European food retailers by direct route. SALEM-Frucht GmbH has been awarded the IFS, BRC and QS certificates as evidence of its high quality standards.

fahrt

 

 


  • kikusweetheartredroseevelinafitobstlogoseefruechtchen

Anbau & Ernte

 

Das Leben erwacht – Beginn des Apfelkreislaufs

Zu Beginn der kalten Wintermonate besprühen unsere Bauern bei Kälte die Zweige der Apfelbäume. Dadurch entsteht eine Eisschicht, welche die zarten Zweige vor noch kälteren Temperaturen schützt. Selbst maximal kalte Temperaturen können so den Bäumen nichts anhaben und diese können möglichst früh austreiben.

P1000428

Die Bestäubung

Nicht nur Bienen kümmern sich um diesen wichtigen Vorgang. Hummeln fliegen schon ab ca. 8 Grad, während Bienen erst ab 14 Grad fliegen. Deshalb setzen wir neben den Bienen verstärkt auf die Hilfe der Hummeln. Das ist für die frühe Befruchtung der Blüten enorm wichtig.

hummel

Der Reifeprozess

Das Klima am Bodensee ist mediterran. Mit rund 1700 Sonnenstunden im Jahr ist der Bodensee eine der sonnenreichsten Regionen Deutschlands. Während der Reife überwachen unsere Bauern in Stichproben konstant wichtige Werte, um den optimalen Erntezeitpunkt zu ermitteln und diesen zu beeinflussen. 

test

Die Ernte

Anfang August beginnt mit den Frühäpfeln die Erntezeit unserer Bodensee-Äpfel. Ende Oktober endet die Erntezeit mit Lageräpfeln, zu denen auch die Sorte Braeburn gehört. Unsere Sortenvielfalt und die gute Haltbarkeit der Lagersorten sorgen für ganzjährig frische Äpfel vom Bodensee.

ernte

Lagerung & Transport

Damit die Äpfel beim Kunden wie frisch gepflückt ankommen, muss die Kühlkette lückenlos sein. Zwölf Monate im Jahr liefert SALEM-Frucht diese Frische und Qualität. Vom Kommissionierungslager gelangt die Ware auf kurzem Weg über zehn Rampen zur Verladung auf Kühlzüge. So gelangt das Obst auf direktem Weg in den deutschen und europäischen Lebensmittel-Einzelhandel. Die erlangten Zertifikate IFS, BRC und QS belegen die hohen Qualitätsansprüche der SALEM-Frucht GmbH.

fahrt

 

 


  • kikusweetheartredroseevelinafitobstlogoseefruechtchen